geronimo-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "B.J. Reed (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] Updated: (GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350) Update "Source" view with unsaved changes in Deployment Plan Editor, or prompt user to save before switching to "Source" view
Date Wed, 09 Jul 2008 19:53:31 GMT

     [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel
]

B.J. Reed updated GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350:
---------------------------------------

    Attachment: GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350-optionb.patch

The optionb.patch is a quick fix prompting the user to save before switching pages.  This
is not really the best solution, but may have to do for now.  To fix this the right way, we
will need to have 2 versions of the deployment plan (saved and working copy) rather than just
the one version we have now.  Will investigate further to determine how big of a change this
will be.

> Update "Source" view with unsaved changes in Deployment Plan Editor, or prompt user to
save before switching to "Source" view
> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350
>             Project: Geronimo-Devtools
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: eclipse-plugin
>    Affects Versions: 2.1.0
>         Environment: Eclipse Europa Winter, Geronimo 2.1.1, GEP 2.1.0
>            Reporter: Cedric Hurst
>            Assignee: Tim McConnell
>             Fix For: 2.1.2
>
>         Attachments: deploymentPlanUnsavedChanges.avi, GERONIMODEVTOOLS-350-optionb.patch
>
>
> When editing metadata in one of the graphical views of the Deployment Plan Editor (e.g.
"General", "Security", "Deployment"), any unsaved changes are not reflected after switching
to the "Source" view.  This might be confusing for the user, because the expectation is that
they are editing a "working copy" the values of the fields would be consistently reflected
in the "Source" view.   I am proposing two possible options (in order of preference):
> 1. Update the "Source" view to reflect unsaved changes
> 2. Prompt the user to save the Deployment Plan before switching from a graphical view
to the "Source" view
> I will attach a screencast to better demonstrate the issue.

-- 
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
-
You can reply to this email to add a comment to the issue online.


Mime
View raw message