geronimo-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Alan D. Cabrera" <l...@toolazydogs.com>
Subject [VOTE] Yoko - A CORBA Server Sub-Project
Date Wed, 25 Jan 2006 19:37:55 GMT
= PROJECT PROPOSAL =

Yoko, a CORBA Server.

This proposal outlines the creation of a Geronimo sub-project within the 
Apache Software Foundation.

= RATIONALE =

The current Apache Geronimo project (http://geronimo.apache.org/) is in 
great need of a CORBA ORB that is not tied into a particular vendor's 
JVM and version.

This proposal is to build a compliant OMG CORBA server.

A set of leading vendors in this space are joining together to 
contribute code and developer resources for this project. We expect it 
to be a major success.

= INITIAL SOURCE =

IONA and Trifork will contribute core pieces of the source. IONA source 
will open source an
ORB and IIOP transport, and will provide the call chain utilizing Celtix 
jars. The project will
then expose the transport via a dynamic API that is XMLShema based and 
can be bound to JAX-B,
XMLBean, Geronimo, Tuscany or any implementation. As a side benefit the 
XMLShema API will also be able to support other transports and binding 
through configuration.

The developer community will take that code as input and produce the 
best possible CORBA server.

= RESOURCES TO BE CREATED =

 * SVN Repository
 * Jira
 * Mailing Lists
 * Official Build Systems

= AVOIDING THE WARNING SIGNS =

== Orphaned products: ==

The CORBA Server will be a part of Geronimo and under heavy active 
development.

== Inexperience with open source: ==

Many of the current committers have experience working with open source 
projects and communities and the leaders of this project are long time 
ASF contributors. We do not expect any difficulty in executing under 
normal meritocracy rules.

== Homogenous developers: ==

There are developers from various companies: Chutnoon, IBM, IONA, 
LogicBlaze, Trifork, and Simula Labs.

== No ties to other Apache products: ==

The CORBA server intends to be a sub-project of Geronimo.  Other Apache 
projects such as Harmony could also use the ORB.

== A fascination with the Apache brand: ==

A CORBA ORB that is not tied to a particular vendor's JVM is critical 
for the Geronimo project.

The contributors are leading vendors in this space. There is no risk of 
any of the usual warning signs of orphaned or abandoned code.

= Initial COMMITTERS =

 * David Blevins (IBM) - Member of Geronimo PMC and Axis Committer
 * Balaji Bravi (IONA), Balaji.MosurRavi@iona.com
 * Alan Cabrera (Simula Labs), adc@apache.org - Member of Geronimo PMC 
and Directory Committer
 * Hiram Chirino (LogicBlaze)  - Member of Geronimo PMC
 * Jeff Genender (Virtuas) - Member of Geronimo PMC
 * Matt Hogstrom (IBM), matt@hogstrom.org - Member of Geronimo PMC
 * David Jencks (IBM) - Member of Geronimo PMC
 * Anders Hessellund Jensen (Trifork), ahj@trifork.com
 * Prasad Kosuru (IONA), prasadarao.kosuru@iona.com
 * Lars K├╝hne (OpenORB), lakuehne@t-online.de
 * Trustin Lee (1noon.com), trustin@apache.org - Member of Directory PMC 
and Felix PPMC
 * Rick McGuire (IBM), rickmcg@gmail.com
 * Darren Middleman (IONA), darrenmiddleman@iona.com
 * Edell Nolan (IONA), edell.nolan@iona.com
 * Conrad O'Dea (IONA), Conrad.ODea@iona.com
 * Dion Picco (IONA), dion.picco@iona.com
 * Andy Piper (BEA), andyp@bea.com
 * Jeppe Sommer (Trifork), jeppe@trifork.com
 * Adi Sakala (IONA), adi.sakala@iona.com
 * Dain Sundstrom (IBM) dain@apache.org - Member of Geronimo PMC and JDO 
Committer
 * Kresten Krab Thorup (Trifork), krab@trifork.com
 * David Weir (IONA), david.weir@iona.com

 
= PROPOSED APACHE SPONSOR =

The Geronimo PMC has voted to accept this project into the Geronimo 
project upon successful incubation.

= MENTORS =

 * James Strachan



Mime
View raw message