geronimo-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Geir Magnusson Jr." <ge...@optonline.net>
Subject Re: ObjectWeb and Geronimo communication
Date Wed, 19 Nov 2003 07:04:48 GMT

On Nov 18, 2003, at 6:47 PM, James Strachan wrote:

> Just for other geronimo folks who couldn't make the BOF at ApacheCon 
> (shame! it was great, as is the conference as a whole!) I'd just like 
> to mention that we might wanna look at JORAM as a JMS implementation 
> for Geronimo.
>
> Right now JORAM is LGPL so the ASF wouldn't be able to distribute it 
> as a part of Geronimo - or to certify it - though there is a chance 
> the LGPL could be changed to BSD- Jean-Pierre said he's gonna try 
> change it if we're interested.
>
> It'd be nice if someone in the geronimo community could take a look at 
> integrating JORAM into Geronimo (I here the JCA connectors are looking 
> good) then we could try out Geronimo with a full 1.1 JMS provider. (We 
> should do the same with openjms when it reaches 1.1 as well).

I've been looking for something to do, so if no one else has decided to 
tackle this while I was flying home, I volunteer.

geir

>
>
> On 18 Nov 2003, at 14:29, David Blevins wrote:
>
>> The ObjectWeb/Geronimo BoF went great.  Both sides are very excited 
>> to be working together. After the meeting, we went to the bar and 
>> chatted for several hours more.  It was great to see the Geronimo 
>> team huddled around David Egolf of JOTM while he talked about the 
>> intricacies of heavy transactional systems he's created on the 
>> mainframe.  The discussion got so engaging, we had to create a 
>> "talking stick' to keep people from talking over one another.
>>
>> The result of the BoF was that JOTM will be switched from LGPL to 
>> BSD-style so that there is nothing keeping us from fully 
>> collaborating.  Both sides are very committed.
>>
>> It's amazing what can happen when experts unite, regardless of 
>> project affiliation.  This is the true spirit of open source, not 
>> lawyers.
>>
>> In an effort to keep the ball rolling, I've compiled an initial list 
>> of the ObjectWeb and Geronimo crews -- will also be posting it to the 
>> wiki.  I encourage as much cross-team communication as possible.
>>
>>
>> ObjectWeb Crew
>> ===============================================================
>> (Jonas/JCA/JOTM manager)
>> Trent Shue             trent.shue@objectweb.org  (phoenix)
>>
>> (Jonas Architects)
>> Francois Exertier      francois.exertier@objectweb.org  (france)
>> Gerard Vandome         gerard.vandome@objectweb.org  (france)
>>
>> (JCA/Resource Adapters for Jonas Expert)
>> Eirc Hardisty          eirc.hardisty@objectweb.org (phoenix)
>>
>> (JCP Member for JCA)
>> Michael Giroux         michael.giroux@objectweb.org  (phoenix)
>>
>> (JOTM)
>> David Egolf            david.egolf@bull.com
>>
>> (PR,Communication,Board)
>> Jean-Pierre Laisne     jean-pierre.laisne@bull.net  (france)
>> Francois Letellier     francois.letellier@objectweb.org  (france)
>>
>>
>> Geronimo Crew
>> ===============================================================
>> (Name)                 (email)                           (from)
>> Aaron Mulder           ammulder@alumni.princeton.edu    OpenEJB
>> Alan Cabrera           adc@toolazydogs.com              OpenEJB
>> Bruce Snyder           ferret@frii.com               Castor JDO
>> Dain Sundstrom         dain@coredevelopers.net            JBoss
>> David Blevins          david.blevins@visi.com           OpenEJB
>> David Jencks           david@coredevelopers.net           JBoss
>> Gianny Damour          gianny_damour@hotmail.com      Community
>> Geir Magnusson Jr.     geirm@optonline.net               Apache
>> Greg Wilkins           gregw@mortbay.com                  Jetty
>> Hiram Chirino          hiram@coredevelopers.net           JBoss
>> James Strachan         james_strachan@yahoo.co.uk        Apache
>> Jan Bartel             janb@mortbay.com                   Jetty
>> Jason Dillon           jason@coredevelopers.net           JBoss
>> Jeremy Boynes          jeremy@coredevelopers.net          JBoss
>> Jim Jagielski          jim@jagunet.com                   Apache
>> Jules Golsnell         jules@coredevelopers.net           Jetty
>> Richard Monson-Haefel  richard@monson-haefel.com        OpenEJB
>> Simone Bordet          simone.bordet@hp.com                mx4j
>>
>>
>
> James
> -------
> http://radio.weblogs.com/0112098/
>
>
-- 
Geir Magnusson Jr                                   203-247-1713(m)
geirm@optonline.net


Mime
View raw message