geode-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Owen Nichols <onich...@pivotal.io>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS/VOTE] Proposal to bring GEODE-7465 to release/1.11.0
Date Tue, 26 Nov 2019 23:19:05 GMT
Voting summary:
+1: 8
 0: 0
-1: 0

git cherry-pick -x e148cef9cb63eba283cf86bc490eb280023567ce completed on release/1.11.0.

> On Nov 26, 2019, at 1:35 PM, Ivan Godwin <igodwin@pivotal.io> wrote:
> 
> +1
> 
> On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 1:31 PM Xiaojian Zhou <gzhou@pivotal.io> wrote:
> 
>> +1
>> 
>> On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 12:48 PM Joris Melchior <jmelchior@pivotal.io>
>> wrote:
>> 
>>> +1
>>> 
>>> On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 2:41 PM Jason Huynh <jhuynh@pivotal.io> wrote:
>>> 
>>>> +1
>>>> 
>>>> On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 11:34 AM Anilkumar Gingade <
>> agingade@pivotal.io>
>>>> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>>> +1
>>>>> 
>>>>> On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 11:32 AM Udo Kohlmeyer <udo@apache.com>
>> wrote:
>>>>> 
>>>>>> This is no-brainer
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> *+1*
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On 11/26/19 11:27 AM, Owen Nichols wrote:
>>>>>>> I would like to propose bringing “GEODE-7465: Set eventProcessor
>> to
>>>>> null
>>>>>> in serial AEQ when it is stopped” into the 1.11 release
>>> (necessitating
>>>> an
>>>>>> RC4).
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Without the fix, a sequence of ordinary gfsh commands will leave
>>> the
>>>>> WAN
>>>>>> gateway in an unrecoverable hung state:
>>>>>>> stop gateway-sender
>>>>>>> start gateway-sender
>>>>>>> The only recourse is to restart the server.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> This fix is critical because the distributed system fails to
sync
>>>> data
>>>>>> between WAN sites as the user would expect.
>>>>>>> This issue did exist in previous releases, but recent
>> enhancements
>>> to
>>>>>> WAN/AEQ such as AEQ-pause are increasing user interaction with
>>>>> WAN-related
>>>>>> gfsh commands.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> The fix is simple, low risk, tested, and has been on develop
for
>> 5
>>>>> days:
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>>> 
>>> 
>> https://github.com/apache/geode/commit/e148cef9cb63eba283cf86bc490eb280023567ce
>>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> --
>>> *Joris Melchior *
>>> CF Engineering
>>> Pivotal Toronto
>>> 416 877 5427
>>> 
>>> “Programs must be written for people to read, and only incidentally for
>>> machines to execute.” – *Hal Abelson*
>>> <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hal_Abelson>
>>> 
>> 


Mime
View raw message