geode-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Jacob Barrett <jbarr...@pivotal.io>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS] LGTM on pull requests
Date Wed, 05 Dec 2018 19:28:09 GMT
https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/INFRA-17226

> On Dec 5, 2018, at 11:26 AM, Jacob Barrett <jbarrett@pivotal.io> wrote:
> 
> They are investigating security concerns around the integration.
> 
>> On Dec 5, 2018, at 11:05 AM, Bruce Schuchardt <bschuchardt@pivotal.io> wrote:
>> 
>> Maybe we need to poke infra about this
>> 
>>> On 11/9/18 3:07 PM, Jacob Barrett wrote:
>>> I opened a ticket with infra earlier this week to enable PR integration. There
hasn’t been any movement.
>>> 
>>>> On Nov 9, 2018, at 3:00 PM, Nabarun Nag <nnag@pivotal.io> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>> As per running periodically , LGTM runs it every Monday.
>>>> 
>>>> As for who would fix it, LGTM mentions which commit caused the failure and
who was the author of it. So i think its the author's responsibility to fix it.
>>>> 
>>>> Personally, LGTM list a table that shows how many alerts we caused by which
author [ https://lgtm.com/projects/g/apache/geode/contributors:java <https://lgtm.com/projects/g/apache/geode/contributors:java>
]
>>>> I cleaning up whatever alerts I have introduced into Apache Geode.
>>>> 
>>>> Regards
>>>> Nabarun
>>>> 
>>>> 
>>>>> On Nov 9, 2018, at 2:54 PM, Alexander Murmann <amurmann@pivotal.io>
wrote:
>>>>> 
>>>>> I don't have strong opinions on this, but I am always suspect of CI jobs
>>>>> that indicate quality that only run periodically. If the job discovers
>>>>> something that needs improvement who is going to do the work and when?
>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 2:36 PM Kirk Lund <klund@apache.org>
wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Well, we could run it periodically such as weekly rather than as
part of
>>>>>> the main pipeline or precheckin.
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 2:32 PM, Aditya Anchuri <aanchuri@pivotal.io>
>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> +1, although I do wonder about the overhead of making PRs increasing
more
>>>>>>> than it already feels like to me as a new contributor (as the
person who
>>>>>>> made the geospatial contribution). If this was a gradle task
maybe like
>>>>>>> spotless?
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 2:20 PM Bruce Schuchardt <bschuchardt@pivotal.io>
>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> I'd like to see LGTM run on pull requests.  Otherwise I think
we're
>>>>>>>> fighting a losing battle trying to improve the quality of
our code. For
>>>>>>>> instance, we just had a nice contribution of geospatial functionality
>>>>>>>> that raised 5 alerts, but we only found out about it after
the code was
>>>>>>>> merged to develop.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> LGTM allows that kind of integration but you have to be the
repo
>>>>>> "owner"
>>>>>>>> to set it up.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> https://lgtm.com/projects/g/apache/geode/
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 


Mime
View raw message