geode-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Anthony Baker <aba...@pivotal.io>
Subject Re: What to do with the geode-spark-connector
Date Thu, 01 Jun 2017 13:56:07 GMT
We have suggestions to split into a separate repo (along with fixing it) and removing it altogether.
 In the spirit of ASF do-ocracy, are there any volunteers to take on the former?

This has an affect on the 1.2.0 release since the spark connector is part of the release but
needs further work before it is shippable even in its current out-dated form.

Anthony

> On May 25, 2017, at 9:21 AM, Lynn Hughes-Godfrey <lhughesgodfrey@pivotal.io> wrote:
> 
> I agree with Mark and Anthony ...
> +1 to deleting this altogether.
> 
> On Thu, May 25, 2017 at 9:12 AM, John Blum <jblum@pivotal.io> wrote:
> 
>> Perhaps the bigger question is, is anyone even using the connector?  No
>> sense in supporting something that isn't used by anyone when those efforts
>> could be utilized elsewhere (e.g. Redis Protocol Adapter/Data Structures).
>> 
>> On Thu, May 25, 2017 at 8:52 AM, Mark Bretl <mbretl@apache.org> wrote:
>> 
>>> I have similar thoughts as Anthony on this issue. No matter if it is a
>>> separate repo or branch I think it will be left behind.
>>> 
>>> I think the bigger question is does this community want to continue to
>>> support the connector?
>>> 
>>> --Mark
>>> 
>>> 
>>> On Thu, May 25, 2017 at 8:34 AM Ernest Burghardt <eburghardt@pivotal.io>
>>> wrote:
>>> 
>>>> +1 on A
>>>> 
>>>> On Thu, May 25, 2017 at 8:21 AM, Michael William Dodge <
>>> mdodge@pivotal.io>
>>>> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>>> +1 for A
>>>>> 
>>>>>> On 24 May, 2017, at 21:30, Jared Stewart <jstewart@pivotal.io>
>>> wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> +1 for A
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On May 24, 2017 6:48 PM, "Kirk Lund" <klund@apache.org> wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> +1 for A
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> On Wed, May 24, 2017 at 5:50 PM, Jianxia Chen <jchen@pivotal.io>
>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> I prefer option A: Move it into it's own repository, with
it's
>> own
>>>>>>> release
>>>>>>>> cycle.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Wed, May 24, 2017 at 5:17 PM, Dan Smith <dsmith@pivotal.io>
>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Our geode-spark-connector needs some work. It's currently
>> building
>>>>>>>> against
>>>>>>>>> geode 1.0.0-incubating, because it has it's own separate
build
>>>>> process.
>>>>>>>>> It's also somewhat out of date, we're building against
spark
>> 1.3.
>>> Is
>>>>>>>> anyone
>>>>>>>>> actually using the spark connector?
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> I think we need to get the spark connector out of the
main geode
>>>> repo
>>>>>>>> since
>>>>>>>>> people are currently modifying code in the connector
without
>> even
>>>>>>>> compiling
>>>>>>>>> it, since it's not linked into the gradle build.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> What do the geode devs think we should do with the
>>>>>>> geode-spark-connector?
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> A) Move it into it's own repository, with it's own release
cycle
>>>>>>>>> B) Delete it
>>>>>>>>> C) Other??
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> -Dan
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>>> 
>>> 
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> --
>> -John
>> john.blum10101 (skype)
>> 


Mime
View raw message