drill-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Sudheesh Katkam <skat...@maprtech.com>
Subject Re: Resetting an option
Date Mon, 10 Aug 2015 21:25:06 GMT
Correction: currently any user can SET or RESET an option for session and system.

> On Aug 10, 2015, at 2:20 PM, Sudheesh Katkam <skatkam@maprtech.com> wrote:
> 
> Hey y‘all,
> 
> Re DRILL-1065 <https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/DRILL-1065>, at system level
(ALTER system RESET …), resetting an option would mean changing the value to the default
provided by Drill. But, at session level (ALTER session RESET …), would resetting an option
mean:
> (a) changing the value to the default provided by Drill? or,
> (b) changing the value to the system value, that an admin could’ve changed?
> 
> (b) would not allow non-admin users to know what the default is (easily). However, for
a given option, (a) would allow a non-admin user to know what the default is (by resetting)
and what the system setting is (from sys.options). Opinions?
> 
> Thank you,
> Sudheesh


Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message