db-derby-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Dag H. Wanvik (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] Created: (DERBY-2766) Non-authenticated user gets to upgrade from pre-10.2 version databases and become database owner
Date Tue, 05 Jun 2007 21:55:25 GMT
Non-authenticated user gets to upgrade from pre-10.2 version databases and become database
owner 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                 Key: DERBY-2766
                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/DERBY-2766
             Project: Derby
          Issue Type: Bug
          Components: Security
    Affects Versions: 10.2.2.0, 10.2.1.6, 10.3.0.0
            Reporter: Dag H. Wanvik


When upgrading from a pre-10.2 level database to 10.2.* or trunk (10.3 soon to be),
a user which can not be validated (authentication is on), is allowed up
do a full (hard) upgrade and in the process also become the database owner.
No connection is returned, though.
This happens because authentication (and rejection) happens *after* the hard upgrade, 
which also promotes the bogus user to database owner (db owner concept changed after 10.1.*).

Since the database owner can not be changed, this is irreversible. Even if no 
malevolent motive is involved, a small typo can upset things pretty bad..

See attached repro script.

-- 
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
-
You can reply to this email to add a comment to the issue online.


Mime
View raw message