cocoon-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Giacomo Pati <giac...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [proposal] board resolution version 1.1
Date Tue, 03 Dec 2002 16:21:12 GMT
On 28 Nov 2002, David Crossley wrote:

> Stefano Mazzocchi wrote:
> > Things to be decided:
> >
> > 1) the PMC chair. so far I'm the only person who volunteered. I'd be
> > happy to accept that job. (hey, that would turn me into a vice-president
> > of the foundation, wow :-)
>
> +1 from me for Stefano to be chair, because he is deserving
> and it is appropriate.
>
> >                                 - o -
> >
> > 2) the list of PMC members.
> >
> > My intention is to have a large PMC. Every active cocoon committer will
> > have the chance to be in that PMC without requiring an election.
>
> The last time i heard, the intention was to start the
> Cocoon PMC with *all* Cocoon committers. Why the sudden
> change to "active committers" only?
>
> If we follow that route, then Stefano, you would not be on the
> PMC, because by the definition of CVS xml-cocoon/xdocs/who.xml
> and the history at
> http://marc.theaimsgroup.com/?l=xml-cocoon-cvs&r=4&s=stefano&q=b
> you actually belong in the "Inactive Committers" section
> and are close to being "Emeritus". You are not the only
> one in that situation.

How would you define 'active committer'?
By CVS commit rates?
By RTs?
By mail posts/replies?

ATM I don't fall in none of these categories but still like to be in the
PMC.

> So, we need to define very carefully what constitutes a PMC
> member and how/when PMC members are considered to be retired.
> We must get this whole PMC setup correct from the beginning.

I have the impression you'd like to exclude volunteers if they don't have
a measurable weight (which ever this might be)? Why so, or did I
misunderstud your concerns by 'We must get this whole PMC setup correct
from the beginning'?

> > At the same time, I'd ask you people to consider partecipation at the
> > PMC as a serious thing and step out *NOW* if you don't feel like you
> > should be there.
> >
> > A PMC is the Project Management Commitee. As for ASF bylaws, the PMC is
> > legally responsible of the oversight of the project and reports directly
> > to the ASF board via its chair.
> >
> > The PMC is responsible for *all* the codebases that it will host. Note
> > that if the Cocoon PMC will host more codebases, *all* committers from
> > all hosted codebases will be treated equal, this (and other ASF-wide
> > communities) will hopefully avoid the jakarta-effect of internal
> > fragmentation.
> >
> > This is the list of the current active committers
> >
> >        Nicola Ken Barozzi (nicolaken@apache.org)
> >        Marcus Crafter (crafterm@apache.org)
> >        David Crossley (crossley@apache.org)
> >        Torsten Curdt (tcurdt@apache.org)
> >        Bertrand Delacr&#233;taz (bdelacretaz@apache.org)
> >        Vadim Gritsenko (vgritsenko@apache.org)
> >        Christian Haul (haul@apache.org)
> >        Ivelin Ivanov (ivelin@apache.org)
> >        Stefano Mazzocchi (stefano@apache.org)
> >        Stephan Michels (stephan@apache.org)
> >        John Morrison (morrijr@apache.org)
> >        Steven Noels (stevenn@apache.org)
> >        Andrew Oliver (acoliver@apache.org)
> >        Giacomo Pati (giacomo@apache.org)
> >        Konstantin Piroumian (kpiroumian@apache.org)
> >        Ovidiu Predescu (ovidiu@apache.org)
> >        Jeremy Quinn (jeremy@apache.org)
> >        Gianugo Rabellino (gianugo@apache.org)
> >        Peter Royal (proyal@apache.org)
> >        Diana Shannon (shannon@apache.org)
> >        Davanum Srinivas (dims@apache.org)
> >        Sylvain Wallez (sylvain@apache.org)
> >        Carsten Ziegeler (cziegeler@apache.org)
> >
> > If you think you should be there but you are not listed, please speak up
> > now.
> >
> > If you don't want to sit in the PMC, please speak up now.
> >
> > [matthew has been proposed and will be added to the list if accepted]
> >
> >                                 - o -
> >
> > 3) the scope of the Cocoon PMC
> >
> > well, this is not easy, I'll try to come up with something soon and a
> > vision to share.
>
> Just get started and we will all help to develop the vision.
> We should start with building a simple list of dot-points.
> Shall we do it on the Cocoon Wiki or on cocoon-dev ?

I'd prefer cocoon-dev.

Giacomo


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: cocoon-dev-unsubscribe@xml.apache.org
For additional commands, email: cocoon-dev-help@xml.apache.org


Mime
View raw message