cloudstack-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "ASF GitHub Bot (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (CLOUDSTACK-8580) Users should be able to expunge VMs
Date Thu, 23 Jul 2015 06:43:04 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/CLOUDSTACK-8580?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=14638303#comment-14638303
] 

ASF GitHub Bot commented on CLOUDSTACK-8580:
--------------------------------------------

Github user wilderrodrigues commented on the pull request:

    https://github.com/apache/cloudstack/pull/593#issuecomment-123996760
  
    @wido @DaanHoogland @borisroman @runseb 
    
    I will test it manually before proceeding with a merge. I will also add an integration
test for that and send in a new PR.
    
    Cheers,
    Wilder


> Users should be able to expunge VMs
> -----------------------------------
>
>                 Key: CLOUDSTACK-8580
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/CLOUDSTACK-8580
>             Project: CloudStack
>          Issue Type: Improvement
>      Security Level: Public(Anyone can view this level - this is the default.) 
>            Reporter: Lennert den Teuling
>            Priority: Minor
>
> When automating deployments of CloudStack (with for example Terraform) there are situations
where VMs get recreated with the same name (and hostname). When VMs are destroyed by a user,
the name will be reserved on the network until the VM truly gets expunged (depending on expunge.delay).
Because of this, some automation tools cannot work because a new deployment with the same
name gives an error.  
> Users do not have the ability to directly expunge VMs (Only admin and domain-admins can),
but they can destroy them and the admin can configure the expunge.delay where VMs truly get
removed (expunged). 
> Working with the expunge delay is very safe in case users accidentally remove a VM, but
in some cases (when users know what they are doing) there should also be a option to completely
remove the VM when destroying it (expunge). 
> Ideally the admin should be able to configure this behavior trough the global settings,
cause i believe the admin deliberately needs to turn it on (off by default).
> We have looked into making our clients domain-admin by default, but that gives them abilities
we do not want to give, so we see no other way then just enabling expunge for the user. 



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message