cloudstack-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "ASF GitHub Bot (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (CLOUDSTACK-8580) Users should be able to expunge VMs
Date Tue, 14 Jul 2015 22:44:05 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/CLOUDSTACK-8580?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=14627205#comment-14627205
] 

ASF GitHub Bot commented on CLOUDSTACK-8580:
--------------------------------------------

Github user wido commented on the pull request:

    https://github.com/apache/cloudstack/pull/589#issuecomment-121414567
  
    The pull request is against the 4.5 branch while it should be against the master branch.
We can't merge it into 4.5.
    
    Also, you seem to change more then the issue describes, the refactor of the SSH keys part
should be a separate PR.


> Users should be able to expunge VMs
> -----------------------------------
>
>                 Key: CLOUDSTACK-8580
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/CLOUDSTACK-8580
>             Project: CloudStack
>          Issue Type: Improvement
>      Security Level: Public(Anyone can view this level - this is the default.) 
>            Reporter: Lennert den Teuling
>            Priority: Minor
>
> When automating deployments of CloudStack (with for example Terraform) there are situations
where VMs get recreated with the same name (and hostname). When VMs are destroyed by a user,
the name will be reserved on the network until the VM truly gets expunged (depending on expunge.delay).
Because of this, some automation tools cannot work because a new deployment with the same
name gives an error.  
> Users do not have the ability to directly expunge VMs (Only admin and domain-admins can),
but they can destroy them and the admin can configure the expunge.delay where VMs truly get
removed (expunged). 
> Working with the expunge delay is very safe in case users accidentally remove a VM, but
in some cases (when users know what they are doing) there should also be a option to completely
remove the VM when destroying it (expunge). 
> Ideally the admin should be able to configure this behavior trough the global settings,
cause i believe the admin deliberately needs to turn it on (off by default).
> We have looked into making our clients domain-admin by default, but that gives them abilities
we do not want to give, so we see no other way then just enabling expunge for the user. 



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message