carbondata-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From PallaviSingh1992 <...@git.apache.org>
Subject [GitHub] incubator-carbondata pull request #602: [CARBONDATA-710] Updated the FAQs an...
Date Wed, 22 Feb 2017 07:40:53 GMT
Github user PallaviSingh1992 commented on a diff in the pull request:

    https://github.com/apache/incubator-carbondata/pull/602#discussion_r102399607
  
    --- Diff: docs/faq.md ---
    @@ -18,30 +18,124 @@
     -->
     
     # FAQs
    -* **Auto Compaction not Working**
     
    -    The Property carbon.enable.auto.load.merge in carbon.properties need to be set to
true.
    +* [Can we preserve Segments from Compaction?](#can-we-preserve-segments-from-compaction)
    +* [Can we disable horizontal compaction?](#can-we-disable-horizontal-compaction)
    +* [What is horizontal compaction?](#what-is-horizontal-compaction)
    +* [How to enable Compaction while data loading?](#how-to-enable-compaction-while-data-loading)
    +* [Where are Bad Records Stored in CarbonData?](#where-are-bad-records-stored-in-carbondata)
    +* [What are Bad Records?](#what-are-bad-records)
    +* [Can we use CarbonData on Standalone Spark Cluster?](#can-we-use-carbondata-on-standalone-spark-cluster)
    +* [What versions of Apache Spark are Compatible with CarbonData?](#what-versions-of-apache-spark-are-compatible-with-carbondata)
    +* [Can we Load Data from excel?](#can-we-load-data-from-excel)
    +* [How to enable Single Pass Data Loading?](#how-to-enable-single-pass-data-loading)
    +* [What is Single Pass Data Loading?](#what-is-single-pass-data-loading)
    +* [How to specify the data loading format for CarbonData ?](#how-to-specify-the-data-loading-format-for-carbondata)
    +* [How to resolve store location can’t be found?](#how-to-resolve-store-location-can-not-be-found)
    +* [What is carbon.lock.type?]()
    +* [How to enable Auto Compaction?](#how-to-enable-auto-compaction)
    +* [How to resolve Abstract Method Error?](#how-to-resolve-abstract-method-error)
    +* [Getting Exception on Creating a View](#getting-exception-on-creating-a-view)
    +* [Is CarbonData supported for Windows?](#is-carbondata-supported-for-windows)
    +* [How to handle Bad Records?](#how-to-handle-bad-records)
     
    -* **Getting Abstract method error**
    +## Can we preserve Segments from Compaction?
    +If you want to preserve number of segments from being compacted then you can set the
property  **carbon.numberof.preserve.segments**  equal to the **value of number of segments
to be preserved**.
     
    -    You need to specify the spark version while using Maven to build project.
    +Note : *No segments are preserved by Default.*
     
    -* **Getting NotImplementedException for subquery using IN and EXISTS**
    +## Can we disable horizontal compaction?
    +Yes, to disable horizontal compaction, set **carbon.horizontal.compaction.enable** to
``FALSE`` in carbon.properties file.
    --- End diff --
    
    @chenliang613 Hi, there are two faqs : 'Can we disable horizontal compaction?' and 'What
is horizontal compaction?' related to the horizontal compaction, should we remove both of
them?


---
If your project is set up for it, you can reply to this email and have your
reply appear on GitHub as well. If your project does not have this feature
enabled and wishes so, or if the feature is enabled but not working, please
contact infrastructure at infrastructure@apache.org or file a JIRA ticket
with INFRA.
---

Mime
View raw message