ace-commits mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "J.W. Janssen (Created) (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Created] (ACE-230) Avoid removed targets to be resurrected by their audit log.
Date Thu, 15 Mar 2012 10:03:46 GMT
Avoid removed targets to be resurrected by their audit log.
-----------------------------------------------------------

                 Key: ACE-230
                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ACE-230
             Project: ACE
          Issue Type: New Feature
            Reporter: J.W. Janssen


The basic fix for ACE-167 allows targets to be removed. However, when there's an audit log
present for a target, it will cause the target to be resurrected upon synchronization of the
logs. This is not desired. Either the audit log for a target should be purged, or during the
audit log synchronization it should detect somehow that a target is removed, thereby avoiding
it to be resurrected.

There are several possibilities for fixing this:

* purge the entire audit log at the server; when the target is no longer running, the audit
log will be recreated for the remaining targets. This won't work if the target is still running
(which is rather exotic in this situation), or if there are relay server(s) present to which
the removed target once talked. These relay(s) do not have a notion that the target is removed,
thus will happily sent their audit logs to the main server, including the one for the removed
target. For development situations, this might not be an issue as there are probably no relays
involved;
* add a deleted timestamp attribute to the target object, and not really remove it from the
repository. This timestamp will be used during the synchronization process to determine whether
there are *new* events that should cause the target to be resurrected. If there are no newer
events (i.e., the event timestamp > deleted timestamp), the target will not be recreated.
The only thing is that removed targets still remain in the repository, thus need to be hidden
in the UI;
* make the audit log merge process smarted, for example, by only merging audit logs for targets
seen in the last N seconds. In combination with a purge of the entire audit log at the server
and some patience, it would prevent a removed target to be resurrected.


--
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
If you think it was sent incorrectly, please contact your JIRA administrators: https://issues.apache.org/jira/secure/ContactAdministrators!default.jspa
For more information on JIRA, see: http://www.atlassian.com/software/jira

        

Mime
View raw message