accumulo-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Sean Busbey" <s...@manvsbeard.com>
Subject Re: Review Request 30817: ACCUMULO-3513 Delegation token support
Date Wed, 11 Feb 2015 04:12:33 GMT


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOpts.java, line 47
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860318#file860318line47>
> >
> >     Could we add a method to AuthenticationToken that signals if delegation tokens
are needed?
> >     
> >     Or make an intermediate between AuthenticationToken and KerberosToken that is
something like NeedsADelegationToken?
> >     
> >     just something so token providers who also need a delegation token can piggy
back on this without extending KerberosToken.
> 
> Josh Elser wrote:
>     It seems like a decent addition, but what's a use case that we'd want to enable users
to actually do this?

It's the general "downstream might have their own" that Christopher brought up. the best case
for these additions would be ones we don't know about.

I can think of some 2FA based ones off the top of my head that would be nice / understandable,
e.g. CAC based, that would need delegation tokens.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > docs/src/main/asciidoc/chapters/kerberos.txt, lines 80-82
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860348#file860348line80>
> >
> >     link to Hadoop docs on delgation tokens?
> 
> Josh Elser wrote:
>     If you know where some documentation can be found, I'm all for adding it. The only
good writeup I've found is vendor-hosted and not on Apache. Not sure if that's an issue or
not (personally, I'd prefer some on apache, but that might mean I have to write it)

yeah, I can't find much. there's a book coming out that has a good overview, but that also
won't help much for linking.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java,
lines 47-49
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860364#file860364line47>
> >
> >     Since we expect a subset of calls to only happen from the master, is it worth
breaking this into two classes so we can enforce that?
> 
> Josh Elser wrote:
>     I don't think so, especially this was built in such a way that would allow any tserver
to take over the role currently the master only serves. The KeyManager, KeyDistributor, and
KeyWatcher do a good job at breaking down the functionality into "leader" and "followers",
IMO.

wfm.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java,
lines 86-97
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860364#file860364line86>
> >
> >     can we add a correctness test that this server doesnt' think _now_ is before
the issueDate?
> 
> Josh Elser wrote:
>     Sure -- what do you think it should do in this case? Throw an InvalidToken exception?
I haven't really thought about time-skew/ntp issues; hopefully we can continue to avoid with
the secret key expiration on the order of days...

yeah, I'd say InvalidToken


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java,
lines 173-200
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860364#file860364line173>
> >
> >     our audit logs are per server, right? could we add in audit log events for key
added, removed, and expired?
> >     
> >     I guess with the "user" from the audit events as the one in the delegation?
Or too much?
> 
> Josh Elser wrote:
>     We'll get an audit when a user requests a delegation token. Auditing "server operations"
would be a new addition to the audit log and might be confusing? Not sure.

yeah, I'm not sure. Seems like the kind of thing that's definitely of interest for auditing
correctness of the services and would be a pain to go searching the normal logs, given the
debug level. (but I wouldn't want it in the normal logs above debug either)


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManagerTest.java,
line 51
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860373#file860373line51>
> >
> >     can we add a test that when presented with a token secret with an issue date
in the future we reject?
> >     
> >     right now we have a test that the generated issuedate isn't super far in the
past or in the future, but that won't cover if e.g. one tablet server ends up with a lagging
system clock.
> 
> Josh Elser wrote:
>     I'm not sure if we need to be making such assertions on the issueDate. The only reason
we even have the issueDate is so that the leader can appropriately "reinitialize" itself by
using the last secret key that was generated if it satisfies the current configuration values
(the interval hasn't passed).
>     
>     At first glance, this would make use of DelegationTokens enforce that server-side
NTP is properly configured with no authentication purpose. Am I missing something there e.g.
reducing plane of attacks?

The main correctness bit it gains us is that we know that if we see an issueDate in the future,
we know we're going to honor the the delegation token for longer than we're supposed to.

Maybe we could tolerate some window in the future, like the 5 minutes that kerberos does?


- Sean


-----------------------------------------------------------
This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/#review71849
-----------------------------------------------------------


On Feb. 10, 2015, 7:15 p.m., Josh Elser wrote:
> 
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
> https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> 
> (Updated Feb. 10, 2015, 7:15 p.m.)
> 
> 
> Review request for accumulo and Christopher Tubbs.
> 
> 
> Bugs: ACCUMULO-3513
>     https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ACCUMULO-3513
> 
> 
> Repository: accumulo
> 
> 
> Description
> -------
> 
> DelegationTokens are a way to enable MapReduce jobs (or any distributed task which does
not have direct access to the user's kerberos credentials) to identify themself and communicate
with Accumulo. This is implemented in the same style of Hadoop which does this to provide
HDFS and YARN access in YARN jobs, as well as HBase (HBase also served as the base when I
started coding).
> 
> A DelegationToken (nothing more than a short-lived, on-demand password generated by Accumulo)
is provided to users who request one through the SecurityOperations API. Secret keys are created,
distributed and expired within Accumulo itself (Master creates and expires keys, distributes
via ZK to tservers), which allow the master to create delegation tokens upon request and tabletservers
to validate delegation tokens provided as the authentication mechanism by users. Tokens are
valid for 7 days by default and new secret keys are rolled every day (configurable).
> 
> RPC is implemented SASL's DIGEST-MD5 mechanism (in addition to the GSSAPI support we
already have for "normal" kerberos -- thrift makes this really easy). YARN provides a secure
way to pass delegation tokens from the client JVM to each YARN task (mapper/reducer) to prevent
unwanted parties from stealing the token (password) and using it for their own (nefarious)
purposes. The feature is transparent for users as long as they as using our MapReduce JCommander
options classes.
> 
> User documentation has been added to the kerberos chapter.
> 
> 
> Diffs
> -----
> 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/Constants.java 0229d4e 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/ClientOpts.java 216f32d 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOnDefaultTable.java
0cf081f 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOnRequiredTable.java
7719e92 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOpts.java 4b3b7ed 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/admin/SecurityOperations.java efeafc0

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/ClientContext.java 8470da4

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/SecurityOperationsImpl.java
feb1ee7 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/ThriftTransportKey.java 072724b

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapred/AbstractInputFormat.java
b83a024 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapred/AccumuloOutputFormat.java
f877ec6 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/AbstractInputFormat.java
5c7b780 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/AccumuloOutputFormat.java
5e0aa73 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/impl/DelegationTokenStub.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/lib/impl/ConfiguratorBase.java
b2b5150 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/lib/impl/InputConfigurator.java
5405ac0 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mock/MockSecurityOperations.java
db88cfb 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/security/tokens/DelegationToken.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/conf/Property.java 68fac73 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslClientDigestCallbackHandler.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslConnectionParams.java e067e23 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslDigestCallbackHandler.java PRE-CREATION

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/ThriftUtil.java d880fb3 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/security/AuthenticationTokenIdentifier.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/security/SystemPermission.java b998179

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/util/ThriftMessageUtil.java PRE-CREATION

>   core/src/main/thrift/master.thrift d89e381 
>   core/src/main/thrift/security.thrift 66235a8 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/ThriftTransportKeyTest.java
2723273 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/security/tokens/DelegationTokenTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslClientDigestCallbackHandlerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslConnectionParamsTest.java 3910f34

>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/security/AuthenticationTokenIdentifierTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/util/ThriftMessageUtilTest.java PRE-CREATION

>   docs/src/main/asciidoc/chapters/kerberos.txt 05d7384 
>   fate/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/fate/zookeeper/IZooReader.java 610b1bd 
>   fate/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/fate/zookeeper/ZooReader.java 5706cf3 
>   proxy/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/proxy/Proxy.java f9039be 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/AccumuloServerContext.java 84c3853

>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/master/state/MetaDataStateStore.java
bf56a7a 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslServerConnectionParams.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslServerDigestCallbackHandler.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/TCredentialsUpdatingInvocationHandler.java
f85505d 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/TServerUtils.java f1f8963

>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/UGIAssumingProcessor.java
ab106a6 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/AuditedSecurityOperation.java
cc7a7cd 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/SecurityOperation.java
7adb46e 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/SystemCredentials.java
51d50a1 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationKey.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenKeyManager.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyDistributor.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyWatcher.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/handler/KerberosAuthenticator.java
08fa55b 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/AccumuloServerContextTest.java
49a60a6 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslDigestCallbackHandlerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslServerConnectionParamsTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationKeyTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenKeyManagerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManagerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyDistributorTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyWatcherTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/gc/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/SimpleGarbageCollector.java da0b07c

>   server/gc/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/GarbageCollectWriteAheadLogsTest.java
1d7f90f 
>   server/gc/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/SimpleGarbageCollectorTest.java 6fcdd37

>   server/gc/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/replication/CloseWriteAheadLogReferencesTest.java
120692a 
>   server/master/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/master/Master.java be476de 
>   server/master/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/master/MasterClientServiceHandler.java
72cba26 
>   server/tserver/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/tserver/TabletServer.java a5675dc

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousBatchWalker.java a2687bb

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousIngest.java dba6ac9

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousMoru.java 4b5c3e7

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousOpts.java PRE-CREATION

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousQuery.java 73048f6

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousScanner.java f68377a

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousWalk.java 60f8ec2

>   test/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/harness/MiniClusterHarness.java 06b4303 
>   test/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/functional/KerberosIT.java 3d48657 
> 
> Diff: https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/
> 
> 
> Testing
> -------
> 
> Many new unit tests. Additional integration tests. Standalone mapreduce jobs (continuous
verify and terasort ingest) on a fully secure cluster.
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> 
> Josh Elser
> 
>


Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message