accumulo-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Josh Elser" <josh.el...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: Review Request 30817: ACCUMULO-3513 Delegation token support
Date Wed, 11 Feb 2015 00:42:33 GMT


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOpts.java, lines
65-66
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860318#file860318line65>
> >
> >     it would help if this error message included what the permission an operator
has to grant to recover.

Good point. I think I wrote this before I added the system permission. Will add.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOpts.java, line 47
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860318#file860318line47>
> >
> >     Could we add a method to AuthenticationToken that signals if delegation tokens
are needed?
> >     
> >     Or make an intermediate between AuthenticationToken and KerberosToken that is
something like NeedsADelegationToken?
> >     
> >     just something so token providers who also need a delegation token can piggy
back on this without extending KerberosToken.

It seems like a decent addition, but what's a use case that we'd want to enable users to actually
do this?


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > docs/src/main/asciidoc/chapters/kerberos.txt, lines 80-82
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860348#file860348line80>
> >
> >     link to Hadoop docs on delgation tokens?

If you know where some documentation can be found, I'm all for adding it. The only good writeup
I've found is vendor-hosted and not on Apache. Not sure if that's an issue or not (personally,
I'd prefer some on apache, but that might mean I have to write it)


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > docs/src/main/asciidoc/chapters/kerberos.txt, lines 264-268
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860348#file860348line264>
> >
> >     an example of checking and granting the system permission would help round this
out.

good point, will expand.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationKey.java,
line 39
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860362#file860362line39>
> >
> >     can we use something other than Writable (e.g. protobuf, avro, etc) for this
serialization?

See TAuthenticationKey which implements the Writable.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java,
lines 47-49
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860364#file860364line47>
> >
> >     Since we expect a subset of calls to only happen from the master, is it worth
breaking this into two classes so we can enforce that?

I don't think so, especially this was built in such a way that would allow any tserver to
take over the role currently the master only serves. The KeyManager, KeyDistributor, and KeyWatcher
do a good job at breaking down the functionality into "leader" and "followers", IMO.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java,
lines 86-97
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860364#file860364line86>
> >
> >     can we add a correctness test that this server doesnt' think _now_ is before
the issueDate?

Sure -- what do you think it should do in this case? Throw an InvalidToken exception? I haven't
really thought about time-skew/ntp issues; hopefully we can continue to avoid with the secret
key expiration on the order of days...


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java,
lines 173-200
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860364#file860364line173>
> >
> >     our audit logs are per server, right? could we add in audit log events for key
added, removed, and expired?
> >     
> >     I guess with the "user" from the audit events as the one in the delegation?
Or too much?

We'll get an audit when a user requests a delegation token. Auditing "server operations" would
be a new addition to the audit log and might be confusing? Not sure.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyDistributor.java,
line 68
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860365#file860365line68>
> >
> >     follow on ticket number? could we just always fail for now?

Ooo, I'm glad I left that for myself (and you brought it up). Forgot about it :). I think
I can nab that on the next revision.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/handler/KerberosAuthenticator.java,
lines 120-134
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860367#file860367line120>
> >
> >     probably a follow on and not for this issue, but do these events all make it
to the audit log?

Yeah, I forgot I added this -- out of scope for these changes. Can address impersonation auditing
separately as well.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManagerTest.java,
line 51
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860373#file860373line51>
> >
> >     can we add a test that when presented with a token secret with an issue date
in the future we reject?
> >     
> >     right now we have a test that the generated issuedate isn't super far in the
past or in the future, but that won't cover if e.g. one tablet server ends up with a lagging
system clock.

I'm not sure if we need to be making such assertions on the issueDate. The only reason we
even have the issueDate is so that the leader can appropriately "reinitialize" itself by using
the last secret key that was generated if it satisfies the current configuration values (the
interval hasn't passed).

At first glance, this would make use of DelegationTokens enforce that server-side NTP is properly
configured with no authentication purpose. Am I missing something there e.g. reducing plane
of attacks?


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/master/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/master/Master.java, lines 612-614
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860380#file860380line612>
> >
> >     please log the negative case at INFO as well.

Agreed.


> On Feb. 10, 2015, 9:38 p.m., Sean Busbey wrote:
> > server/tserver/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/tserver/TabletServer.java, lines
2444-2446
> > <https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/4/?file=860382#file860382line2444>
> >
> >     I'd say the error messge should atleast mention that delegation tokens will
fail. That'll help someone lookign at logs to figure out why their MapReduce job won't run.

Good point. Will expand.


- Josh


-----------------------------------------------------------
This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/#review71849
-----------------------------------------------------------


On Feb. 10, 2015, 7:15 p.m., Josh Elser wrote:
> 
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
> https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> 
> (Updated Feb. 10, 2015, 7:15 p.m.)
> 
> 
> Review request for accumulo and Christopher Tubbs.
> 
> 
> Bugs: ACCUMULO-3513
>     https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/ACCUMULO-3513
> 
> 
> Repository: accumulo
> 
> 
> Description
> -------
> 
> DelegationTokens are a way to enable MapReduce jobs (or any distributed task which does
not have direct access to the user's kerberos credentials) to identify themself and communicate
with Accumulo. This is implemented in the same style of Hadoop which does this to provide
HDFS and YARN access in YARN jobs, as well as HBase (HBase also served as the base when I
started coding).
> 
> A DelegationToken (nothing more than a short-lived, on-demand password generated by Accumulo)
is provided to users who request one through the SecurityOperations API. Secret keys are created,
distributed and expired within Accumulo itself (Master creates and expires keys, distributes
via ZK to tservers), which allow the master to create delegation tokens upon request and tabletservers
to validate delegation tokens provided as the authentication mechanism by users. Tokens are
valid for 7 days by default and new secret keys are rolled every day (configurable).
> 
> RPC is implemented SASL's DIGEST-MD5 mechanism (in addition to the GSSAPI support we
already have for "normal" kerberos -- thrift makes this really easy). YARN provides a secure
way to pass delegation tokens from the client JVM to each YARN task (mapper/reducer) to prevent
unwanted parties from stealing the token (password) and using it for their own (nefarious)
purposes. The feature is transparent for users as long as they as using our MapReduce JCommander
options classes.
> 
> User documentation has been added to the kerberos chapter.
> 
> 
> Diffs
> -----
> 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/Constants.java 0229d4e 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/ClientOpts.java 216f32d 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOnDefaultTable.java
0cf081f 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOnRequiredTable.java
7719e92 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/cli/MapReduceClientOpts.java 4b3b7ed 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/admin/SecurityOperations.java efeafc0

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/ClientContext.java 8470da4

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/SecurityOperationsImpl.java
feb1ee7 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/ThriftTransportKey.java 072724b

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapred/AbstractInputFormat.java
b83a024 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapred/AccumuloOutputFormat.java
f877ec6 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/AbstractInputFormat.java
5c7b780 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/AccumuloOutputFormat.java
5e0aa73 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/impl/DelegationTokenStub.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/lib/impl/ConfiguratorBase.java
b2b5150 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mapreduce/lib/impl/InputConfigurator.java
5405ac0 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/mock/MockSecurityOperations.java
db88cfb 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/security/tokens/DelegationToken.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/conf/Property.java 68fac73 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslClientDigestCallbackHandler.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslConnectionParams.java e067e23 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslDigestCallbackHandler.java PRE-CREATION

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/ThriftUtil.java d880fb3 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/security/AuthenticationTokenIdentifier.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/security/SystemPermission.java b998179

>   core/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/util/ThriftMessageUtil.java PRE-CREATION

>   core/src/main/thrift/master.thrift d89e381 
>   core/src/main/thrift/security.thrift 66235a8 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/impl/ThriftTransportKeyTest.java
2723273 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/client/security/tokens/DelegationTokenTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslClientDigestCallbackHandlerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/rpc/SaslConnectionParamsTest.java 3910f34

>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/security/AuthenticationTokenIdentifierTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   core/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/core/util/ThriftMessageUtilTest.java PRE-CREATION

>   docs/src/main/asciidoc/chapters/kerberos.txt 05d7384 
>   fate/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/fate/zookeeper/IZooReader.java 610b1bd 
>   fate/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/fate/zookeeper/ZooReader.java 5706cf3 
>   proxy/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/proxy/Proxy.java f9039be 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/AccumuloServerContext.java 84c3853

>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/master/state/MetaDataStateStore.java
bf56a7a 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslServerConnectionParams.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslServerDigestCallbackHandler.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/TCredentialsUpdatingInvocationHandler.java
f85505d 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/TServerUtils.java f1f8963

>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/UGIAssumingProcessor.java
ab106a6 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/AuditedSecurityOperation.java
cc7a7cd 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/SecurityOperation.java
7adb46e 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/SystemCredentials.java
51d50a1 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationKey.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenKeyManager.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManager.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyDistributor.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyWatcher.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/handler/KerberosAuthenticator.java
08fa55b 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/AccumuloServerContextTest.java
49a60a6 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslDigestCallbackHandlerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/rpc/SaslServerConnectionParamsTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationKeyTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenKeyManagerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/AuthenticationTokenSecretManagerTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyDistributorTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/base/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/server/security/delegation/ZooAuthenticationKeyWatcherTest.java
PRE-CREATION 
>   server/gc/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/SimpleGarbageCollector.java da0b07c

>   server/gc/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/GarbageCollectWriteAheadLogsTest.java
1d7f90f 
>   server/gc/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/SimpleGarbageCollectorTest.java 6fcdd37

>   server/gc/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/gc/replication/CloseWriteAheadLogReferencesTest.java
120692a 
>   server/master/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/master/Master.java be476de 
>   server/master/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/master/MasterClientServiceHandler.java
72cba26 
>   server/tserver/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/tserver/TabletServer.java a5675dc

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousBatchWalker.java a2687bb

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousIngest.java dba6ac9

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousMoru.java 4b5c3e7

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousOpts.java PRE-CREATION

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousQuery.java 73048f6

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousScanner.java f68377a

>   test/src/main/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/continuous/ContinuousWalk.java 60f8ec2

>   test/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/harness/MiniClusterHarness.java 06b4303 
>   test/src/test/java/org/apache/accumulo/test/functional/KerberosIT.java 3d48657 
> 
> Diff: https://reviews.apache.org/r/30817/diff/
> 
> 
> Testing
> -------
> 
> Many new unit tests. Additional integration tests. Standalone mapreduce jobs (continuous
verify and terasort ingest) on a fully secure cluster.
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> 
> Josh Elser
> 
>


Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message